top of page

Blog

Nut Butter Pancakes

A family favourite and these worked out epic! They only consist of five ingredients so they are easy peasy to make and I had the tick of approval from my partner, Kane and he’s definitely tasted pancakes I have made that aren’t so good… Although he’s very polite in how he tells me he is very honest! I used green banana flour to make these…. How many of you have heard of green banana flour? I hadn’t until it recently catching my eye in my local organic grocery store, Liberty Market. I irrationally bought it having no idea if I would ever use it or how it could be used… It’s clear now that it was for the purpose of nut butter pancakes. Green banana flour is a great alternative if you don’t eat gluten. It’s a good source of resistant starch with almost 60% dietary fibre and zero sugar making it a pretty popular choice for the health advocates or gluten free humans out there! The bananas are picked prior to being ripe so their sugar content and banana flavour hasn’t had time to form. They’re simply peeled, dried and ground.

If you try these out be sure to tag me on Instagram @for_guts_sake. I would love to see your creations and hear your feedback on whether you like them! I always encourage the use of organic ingredients where possible.

Enjoy!

R E C I P E

1-2 Ripe Bananas (You’ll need two if you are making for two… which is more fun anyway!) 1 Cup of Nut Mylk – whatever your heart desires! I used organic coconut mylk. ½ Cup of Nut Butter – I used organic peanut butter 1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon ½ Cup of Green Banana Flour N O W W H A T?

Chuck all the ingredients into your blender and whip it through until well blended. Grab out your frying pan and heat medium-high, pop a bit of coconut oil in there for frying them up. Cook them on each side for a couple of minutes – Done! Bobs your uncle! Serve these delicious pancakes with all your favourite toppings. I have served mine with buckwheat groats, a few chopped walnuts, pure maple and raspberry compote. You could try these with coconut yogurt as well. De-lish!


Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page