top of page

Blog

TEN MINUTE CHOCOLATE FUDGE

I haven't experienced cravings for a very long time, yet being pregnant my obstetrician said there is a likelihood of becoming low in iron as my pregnancy progressed. I almost took this as a challenge to not become deficient in iron... I thought to myself 'There is absolutely no way that'll happen to me' turns out I was oh so very wrong!

At around the 28 week mark I didn't just become iron deficient I became low in a number of key trace minerals and vitamins too - one of the key minerals being zinc!

If you know me, you’ll know that I harp on a lot about Zinc. Although, I see all of our vitamins and minerals playing an important role in bodily function; I find that our lovely trace mineral zinc is definitely one of the biggies!

Lack of zinc can cause a whole heap of havoc in our systems from not being able to adequately absorb other nutrients, unexplained fatigue, depression, anxiety along with a suppressed immune system making it more likely to contract frequent colds, flus and infections. Something none of us need during the chiller months!

Getting your zinc tested is super easy through a taste test and completely inexpensive. If you think you might be deficient or low in zinc then contact your local holistic health practitioner or health store to request a test.

As your baby grows it begins taking more of the nutrient supply off the mums and my baby obviously wanted to extract every little bit from me! Although, that’s a good thing, from the point of view that our bubby is becoming healthy and strong it can be a bit of a bummer for mum!

Sadly, these days our soil is becoming vastly deficient in key minerals and if it ain't in the soil then it can't be in the food! So despite doing all the right things around eating a wholefood nutrient dense diet I still wasn’t getting an adequate amount of vitamins and minerals.

So, what do I do in order to top up what's missing? Use some good quality supplements which were approved by my nutritionist along with my midwife and obstetrician.

**The supplements I've taken throughout my pregnancy are:

- A multi vitamin which took two years formulating from a whole food super blend, souring the best ingredients from around the world.

- Additional iodine for the first trimester

- Fish Oil - Made in NZ from small fish that are caught wild from the pristine waters of the South Pacific. This fish oil has also been tested on the virtual absence of all environmental pollutants such as PCB's, dioxins pesticides and heavy metals. Note: It is super important to make sure if you take a fish oil that it is a good quality form!

- Additional good quality Zinc

- Additional good quality Vitamin C

- Iron Bisglycinate

- Probiotic specifically formed for infant development, growth and wellbeing.

If you are pregnant, I'd recommend speaking with your health professional before supplementation and work out what's right for you.

The Almighty Ten Minute Chocolate Fudge!

If you are experiencing a sugar craving then it could be linked to not getting enough of a specific vitamin or mineral. However, this fudge might help with reducing further cravings as you are choosing a whole food option full of nourishing, beautiful ingredients and providing your body with the nutrition it actually needs! Rather than stopping in at the local dairy for a chocolate bar that is full of refined sugars and a bunch of ingredients that I can’t even pronounce that has no nutritional value what so ever. The proteins and fats from this chocolate fudge will also slow up the absorption of carbohydrates into the bloodstream keeping your blood sugars at a much more stable level, rather than having them spike and come crashing down. Another bonus about this fudge is that it’s great for gut health which has become such a hot topic in today’s society. This is from the coconut oil as it contains lauric acid, a fat with potent antimicrobial properties.

Have I persuaded you to give it a try? I promise you that you will not be disappointed!

RECIPE: (As always I encourage the use of organic ingredients where possible) 1 Cup of your preferred Nut Butter ¼ Cup of melted cold pressed organic coconut oil

¼ Cup of Cacao Powder

¼ Cup of Pure Maple

Splash of vanilla extract or vanilla paste

WHAT TO DO: Grab out your food processor and chuck everything in together. Blend together making sure you don’t over blend as you don’t want the fats to separate. Place the mixture into a baking tray (be sure to use baking paper or you’ll have a nightmare getting it out) spread this out nice and smoothly and pop into the freezer for 20-30 minutes before taking out to slice up into small squares. It should make about 20 small squares that will last in the freezer for two weeks. Although I doubt it’ll last for two weeks in our household!

Enjoy! xx

** If you want to know further about the supplements I have taken throughout my pregnancy to keep me on track then please feel free to reach out. However, as I am not a registered health practitioner I highly recommend you getting advice from your local holistic health practitioner, midwife, obstetrician or nutritionist to find out what is right for you, your pregnancy and your beautiful baby!


Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page